Once you have collected your Event entries through Hoofpick, you can create a start or running order.

You may want to Close Entries for an Event when you are ready to create your start order. To stop taking new entries (and only allow manual entries to be made by you) navigate to Events from your dashboard and click on the yellow ticket button next to the Event to close the entries. To re-open entries to the public, simply click on the yellow ticket button again.

To manage your start order, click on the grey button Entrants/Results next to your Event to view all Event Entries.

Click on the Show classes dropdown to select the class(es) you want to view entries and manage. This will show the current start order based on when entries were received.

You can assign each horse/rider a number by adding this in the Number column.

Reorder the list by clicking on a row then dragging and dropping it into the order you want your class to run.

When you have finished making changes, click on the Submit button to save and publish your start order.*

Your start order will now be visible on your Event under the Start List/Results tab for your riders to view.

*It's important to make any class entry changes (i.e. scratches, rider/horse details) before publishing your start order. Once your start order has been published, a record of the original entries (at the time of publishing) will be kept and remain on the start order.

After you have published a start order and you need to make class entry changes (i.e. a rider withdraws from one class and enters another class) you can record this by:

  • Detailing the change in the class under the entry Notes and click submit, and then
  • Manually enter them in the other class.

Any new entries you receive or add will automatically appear at the bottom of your start order. You can move them to the top so that they run first as 'late entries' using the drag and drop. Just remember to click Submit to save the new start order.

You can make changes to the start order at any time, before and during an Event. It's always accessible by viewing Entrants/Results on an Event.

Please note:

Changes you make to your start order will be live on your Event. You can temporarily make your Event 'inactive' while you are managing the start order if you don't want it to be visible to riders. Do this by editing your Event and setting it to inactive.

Head over here when you're ready to upload results for your Event.

Did this answer your question?